About Us..

The dPMR Association was established in 2007 and provides a forum for interested parties in the radio communications industry to contribute and share their expertise. The concept was to offer the market a logical, cost effective and future-proof migration solution from analogue to digital two-way radio communications.

Today, our membership includes some of the world's leading companies in radio communications.

The Association actively promotes the independent validation and accreditation of interworking between dPMR digital two way radio products from different manufacturers. The dPMR Association is run by a small team of elected officers from organisations within the membership. They ensure adherence to ETSI standards, organise and manage the interoperability testing and compliance certification programme, endorse the use of the dPMR trademark and logo for compliant equipment to ETSI standards, represent the Association within the industry and promote awareness of the benefits of the technology and its open standard to the widest audience.

Our membership

  • Radio/Infrastructure equipment manufacturing
  • Protocol stack development
  • Semiconductor manufacturing
  • Test Equipment manufacturing

  • Communication solution provision
  • Application Solution development
  • Standards administration
  • Resellers and Distributors
  • Students of Electronics/Electrical Engineering/Wireless Communications

Membership structure

The dPMR Association aims to reflect the full extent of the dynamic radio communications industry and wider community. Membership is open to any person, company or organisation on condition that they have signed the dPMR Memorandum of Understanding dated 13 February 2007. This Memorandum of Understanding is available for signature on request by equipment manufacturers, semiconductor manufacturers, end user, regulator, accredited test house, standards organisations, application developers, solutions providers, radio equipment resellers and NGOs.

Membership is offered either under Full Member, Student or Observer categories:

Full members

  • Radio equipment and infrastructure manufacturers
  • Student members

    • The Association offers reduced fee membership to students of Electronics, Electrical Engineering and Wireless Communications to provide access to the Association documents to students, assisting them in the preparation of papers and/or analysis of digital radio communications with the ultimate aim of publishing their work on our website and other media, whilst giving students experience of actual market conditions in a dynamic and progressive Electronics field. Candidates are invited to submit an outline of their planned work and following agreement with our members, will be admitted to the Association as a Student Member at an annual fee of 50 Euros/year, limited to a 3-year period. Please note that our members will not be able to offer personal tutoring as that remains the role of the college/university. Applications should be submitted to the Secretary.
    • Observers

      • Application Developers, System Integrators, Solutions Providers, Resellers, Test Equipment Manufacturers and Test Houses, End users, Regulators, Operators, Educators, NGOs
Pete Hizzey

Pete Hizzey is a co-author of the dPMR standard and Chairman of the dPMR Association, the worldwide forum for manufacturers, suppliers, users and others interested in radio systems based on the ETSI dPMR technology. Pete has led Icom’s European office, with overall responsibility for European standardization and legislative affairs for almost two decades.

Mike Atkins
(Chair Marketing Group)

Mike Atkins is Chairman of the dPMR Association’s Marketing Group and a Director of JVCKENWOOD UK. Mike has been involved in the sales and marketing of radio communications equipment and systems since 1978 in a career which has included roles at Dymar, Motorola and Kenwood.

Derek Love
(Chair Technical Group)

Derek Love is Chairman of the dPMR Association’s Technical Group and a Consultant Engineer at CML Microcircuits / Applied Technology UK. An engineering graduate, Derek has held positions at Marconi, Maxon, Linear Modulation Technology (LMT) and Securicor Wireless Technologies.

Caroline Maragnon (Secretary)

Caroline Maragnon is Secretary of the dPMR Association, a position she has held since it was founded in 2007. In addition, for the past 17 years Caroline has been engaged as Liaison Associate to Pete Hizzey, operating from Icom’s European office where she is involved in the approval of Icom products for the European market.

About us

The dPMR Association was established in 2007 and provides a forum for interested parties to contribute their expertise.


Get the latest updates